Follow Us



DSC_0752 DSC_0767 DSC_0783 DSC_0987 Nathan Bolton & Daniel Bolton Stuck Todd Barry Adam-Toolan Buckley_Richards

Todd Barry Chasing History

Todd Barry

Since 1924, the year of the very first running of the 24 Hour Trial, only 2 riders have managed to win this prestigious event 5 consecutive years in a row – Peter Milstead from 1963 – 1967 and Shane Diener from 2004 – 2008. Four of Peter’s wins, however, were tied, in an era when many riders were ‘cleaning’ the event. 2018 will see a third rider attempt to join this most exclusive club, when Todd Barry will be riding for a 5th consecutive win in South Australia’s infamous ‘all-nighter’!

Riley Graham

As in 2017, Gawler MCC’s Barry, on his Kessner Motorcycles KTM will be chased hard by his fellow Gawler MCC member, and 2017 24 Hour Trial runner-up, Yamaha’s Riley Graham, who will be all out to win the event for the first time. Also entered in this years quality field, is the returning 2-time winner, Keyneton MCC’s Sean Throup (Yamaha Australia), and previous podium finishers, Keyneton MCC’s Rowan Pumpa (Flinders Motorcycles KTM) and Gawler MCC’s Leigh Bentley (KTM). Young guns such as Alex Heidenreich (B&B Offroad Yamaha, Keyneton MCC) & Daniel Prior (Barossa Motorcycles Yamaha, Gawler MCC) will also be looking to take their place on the podium

Hector Evans & Shaun Buckley

With Max & Sam Hutchesson (Mud N Tars MCC) missing this year due to Max carrying an injury, vying for sidecar honours in 2018 will be the 2017 runners up, Hector Evans & Shaun Buckley (Gawler & Levis MCC) If Hec & Shaun get over the line it will be a 3rd win for Hec, all with different passengers, after wins in 2001 & 2006, but trying to stop him will be the chasing teams of, 3-time winners, Keyneton MCC’s Mark Launer & Tyson Rohrlach,  Levis MCC’s Darren Winter (a 2-time winner) & Lachlan Greenhalgh. Both of these teams are fresh from their efforts in Wales at the recent 2 Day Enduro.

Shaun Harman & Shayne Bain

Fresh from their win at the Robbie 2-Day, the team of Shaun Harman & Shayne Bain (Gawler MCC), will lead the dark horses, with Shaun looking to add to his win as a passenger (2006) and add a 2nd generation win after dad, John’s win in 1988. Also in contention are the Mud N Tars team of Ben Mayne & Ash Ball who won the Keyneton 6 Hour.

Traditional rival clubs of Gawler & Keyneton will battle it out, as they not only chase the outright win, but also the Club Team Award, which has been almost exclusively ‘shared’ between the clubs for well over 40 years now!

This is the 94th anniversary of SA’s most famous motorcycle event, with the event having been run 86 times since 1924 (7 years missed for WW2 1940-46 and 2 years in the 1950’s through market slumps). In 2018 however, and like previous years, todays modern riders will again tackle a course of 4 laps of about 200kms each, with 12 off road sections per lap, and tea and breakfast breaks between laps 1 & 2 and 3 & 4.

The 2018 24 Hour Trial will once again be a highly contested event, held on the ‘2nd full weekend in July’, the 14th & 15th, and starting from the Kapunda Harness Racing Club Complex. The first bike starts at 11.00am on Saturday morning, and all being well, the first bikes will finish from 11.00am Sunday morning.

Full catering will be available all weekend and provided by the Kapunda Primary School. Merchandise, together with event programmes and maps will also be available from Saturday morning in the undercover area, and will include directions to the best spectator areas for the event.MSA Website